“Everyone knows that recycling their rubbish is the right thing to do, but most people are completely unaware of what happens to their recycling after they put it out for collection. This new charter developed by the Resource Association and LARAC provides people with the answers and will hopefully provide an extra incentive for people to recycle more.” Lord Taylor of Holbeach, Recycling Minister, DEFRA

“We welcome this chance to work with all the players involved to provide a robust picture of what happens to the recyclable materials collected from householders. Local authorities know that waste and recycling is a service about which residents have strong opinions and perceptions, both positive and negative. In LARAC’s view, greater transparency will boost the public’s trust in recycling, address some of the inaccurate perceptions about where recyclable materials end up, and help local authorities to be confident in the service they provide.” Joy Blizzard, Chair of LARAC

"WRAP welcomes this charter.  Our research also shows that letting residents know what happens to their recycling is one of the key principles of a good collection service. A pledge to ‘collect as many materials for recycling as possible and explain what happens to them’ is enshrined in the Waste Collection Commitment developed by WRAP and the LGA.  So far, more than 100 local authorities have signed up to the Commitment and this charter will further help local authorities to enhance the service they offer to their residents." Liz Goodwin, CEO, WRAP

Signatories to the Charter

The following local authorities and companies have signed a commitment to the End Destination of Recycling Charter.

Somerset Waste Partnership Smurfit Kappa Recycling
Novelis Palm Recycling
Kent Resource Partnership ECO Plastics
Coca Cola Enterprises Bryson Recycling
UPM Huhtamaki (Lurgan)
Alloa Community Enterprises May Gurney
arc21 Ecolateral
Resource Futures Straight
Closed Loop Recycling Cylch - Wales CRN
North Down Borough Council Stratford-on-Avon District Council
Castle Point Borough Council London Borough of Hounslow
South Somerset District Council Stafford Borough Council
Teignbridge District Council Ashford Borough Council
Canterbury City Council Dartford Borough Council
Dover District Council Gravesham Borough Council
Kent County Council Maidstone Borough Council
Sevenoaks District Council Shepway District Council
Swale Borough Council Thanet District Council
Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council Tunbridge Wells Borough Council
Rutland County Council Wood Yew Waste
London Borough of Sutton Hinckley & Bosworth Borough Council
Wiltshire Council Isle of Wight Council
Wood Recyclers Association Hambleton District Council
Richmondshire District Council Waste Watch
Blaby District Council Tamworth and Lichfield Joint Service
Warrington Borough Council North Somerset Council
East Staffordshire Borough Council Catherine Bearder MEP
Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council Northamptonshire County Council
Shropshire Council Cheshire East Council
Coleraine Borough Council North Lincolnshire Council
Thurrock Council Rebecca Taylor MEP
Hyndburn Borough Council Rochford District Council
Pendle Borough Council LRS Consultancy
North West Leicestershire District Council Ealing Council
Dorset Waste Partnership Cannock Chase Council
Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead Ryedale District Council
Surrey County Council Elmbridge Borough Council
Epsom & Ewell Borough Council Guildford Borough Council
Mole Valley District Council Reigate and Banstead Borough Council
Runnymede Borough Council Spelthorne Borough council
Surrey Heath Borough Council Tandridge District Council
Waverley Borough Council Woking Borough Council
J & B Recycling Warwickshire County Council
Surrey Waste Partnership Exeter City Council
TRAID Recon Waste Management
CO2G Limited Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Cherwell District Council South Northamptonshire Council
South Staffordshire Council South Gloucestershire Council
Oxford City Council Oxford County Council
South Oxfordshire District Council Vale of White Horse District Council
West Oxfordshire District Council Cherwell District Council